Heritage

KTU is proud of the unique heritage of the University of Lithuania – ir fosters and preserves the valuable heritage of science, culture and technology, acquired in various historical periods. Museum’s Council of Heritage analyses the relevant problems related to the preservation of the University’s historical heritage, it initiates the commemorations of the historical and cultural anniversaries and pays respects to the events of the University’s past.

Immovable heritage

Czarist period

KTU Faculty of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities

(former I Chamber of the University of Lithuania (later – VDU))

A. Mickevičiaus St. 37

The building was opened as the School of Commerce in 1914; however it operated in accordance with its primary purpose for a short period of time. In 1919, it was already assigned to the Higher Courses and later the building was taken by the University of Lithuania. This building was the main and the only chamber of the University of Lithuania for a period of five years. The building that has served for the purposes of education and training almost all the period of its existence in now considered the symbol of the modern Lithuanian system of higher education. The building was built in 1912-1914.

Unique object code38010

 

II Chamber of the University of Lithuania (later – VDU))

Gedimino St. 43

Current this chamber is not used. It was built at the end of the 19 century and allocated to the Kaunas Fortress Engineer Board. In 1925, the building was given to the University of Lithuania and allocated to the Faculty of Medicine and Technical Faculty. Those faculties of the University were active in the building until the modern buildings were built for them in Mickevičiaus street and hill of Aleksotas (not preserved). Prof. K. Vasiliauskas Laboratory of Strength of Materials was also established there, but later it changed many locations. The building was given to the Ministry of Interior in 1932. The building was built in 1890.

Unique object code: 31616

 

 

Former KTU Faculty of Mechanics and Institute of Transportation Problems

Kęstučio St. 27

The currently unused building was a location of the Faculty of Mechanics and Institute of Transportation Problems; the University (former KPI) received this building in the Soviet times. Before the war it was the building of the Ministry of Agriculture of the Republic of Lithuania – the two-storey building was expanded by adding the third and fourth floors in 1938. The chamber was built in the end of the 19 century as the headquarters of Kaunas Fortress and was included in the complex of the most important administrative buildings of the fortress. The building was built in 1891.

Unique object code: 27048

 

Period of the First Republic of Lithuania

KTU School of Economics and Business (former Grand Chamber of the University of Lithuania (later – VDU))

K. Donelaičio St. 20

The chamber allocated to the state printing house was built in 1925. The building is distinguished by the fact that the first international competition of architecture in Lithuania was announced for its project in 1923. In 1929, the chamber was given to the University of Lithuania; it became a location for five faculties, library and administration. Tadas Ivanauskas Zoological Museum began its activities in this building; J. Tumas-Vaižgantas Memorial Museum was established there in 1934. The Ministry of Education and other apartments of the Minister were also located in the building. The building was built in 1923-1925.

Unique object code: 37625

 

 

KTU Centre of Cultural Activities and Events (former Chamber of the Lithuanian Ateitis Federation)

Laisvės Av. 13

Lithuanian Ateitis Federation – Catholic youth organisation involved in social and educational activities that provided material support to its members, including students, and tried to provide conditions to the poor youth to study. The building, opened in 1928, became the shelter of this organisation, its economic and cultural centre. The building was built in 1926-1928.

 

 

 

KTU Administrative Building

K. Donelaičio St. 73

The chamber was designed by the famous architect of the inter-war period, K. Reisonas, and built in 1935. During the inter-war period it was the location of the Land Bank – the largest Lithuanian institution providing credits to the agriculture – and Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The building retains many original exterior and interior details; the original bank safe containing the University’s archive is still present in the building. The building was marked by the European Heritage Label in 2015 as one of the best examples of Kaunas modern architecture from the inter-war period. The building was built in 1933-1935.

Unique object code: 1126

 

 

Chamber of KTU Faculty of Chemical Technology (former Research Laboratory)

Radvilėnų St. 19

Before the war it was decided to develop a local arms industry in Lithuania and the research institution for its support that would conduct researches on the raw materials and products used in the production of arms and would search for new production methods. At the order of the Ministry of National Defence the best and most modern laboratory in the Baltic Sea region was built in 1937. The building was marked by the European Heritage Label in 2015 as one of the best examples of Kaunas modern architecture from the inter-war period. The building was built in 1933-1937.

Unique object code: 1150

 

 

Former KTU School of Economics and Business

Laisvės Av. 55

The building, known as “Milk Centre” (Lit. “Pienocentras”), is one of the finest representatives of the modernism architecture of the inter-war Lithuania, acknowledged internationally: in 1937, at the international exhibition in Paris, and in 2015, when it was marked by the European Heritage Label. It is probably the best equivalent of the modern multi-functional building in the modernism architecture of the inter-war Kaunas. Former KPI received this building in 1963. First it was the location of the Faculty of Radioelectronics, later – Faculty of Engineering Economics. The building was built in 1931-1934.

Unique object code: 15968

 

Soviet period

KTU Faculty of Civil Engineering and Architecture

Studentų St. 48

The first building of KPI student campus that became the shaping factor for the entire spatial composition of the campus. The building was designed at the Kaunas branch of the Institute of Urban Construction and Design in 1964. Architecture of the chamber is based on the combination of the contrasting structures of glass and concrete, minimal aesthetics and functionality according to the principle “form corresponds to the function”. The building was built in 1964-1965.

Unique object code: 33441

 

 

KTU Faculty of Electrical and Electronics Engineering 

Studentų St. 50

The main block of the chamber extended along Studentų street is divided by the horizontal, solid stripes of windows emphasising the monumentality of the building and the rhythm of the industrial technology line. It facade is invigorated by a volumetric bay window on the 4-5 floor and a large flat entrance roof. The visual significance of the Chamber is enhanced by its surrounding environment – a pool with a brass sculpture of Perkūnas. This archaic deity holding a lightning in his hand is like a symbol of the electrotechnical faculties connecting the archaic traditional culture and the modern technological civilisation. The building was built in 1969.

Unique object code: 33540

 

 

KTU Faculty of Chemical Technology

Radvilėnų St. 19

The main block in the form of an extended rectangle dominates in the composition of the entire building; its monumentality and rhythm of its window stripes in a way reflect the architecture of the building of the Faculty of Electrical and Electronics Engineering; however it has a glazed stairway cage adjoined to this volume, undisguised volume of the sports block and the block of two grand auditoriums that makes the entire composition of the building expressive and distinctive. It is a cohesive example of contrast and harmony. The building was built in 1970.

Unique object code: 33542

 

 

KTU Student Campus 

The number of students was growing, the old faculties were expanding and the new ones were established – there was a need to create a new infrastructure specifically tailored for science. The ensemble of the student campus is a witness of the most significant period of the University’s development. Its architecture testifies the historical context of that period of time, educational needs, trends of the architectural development and technical possibilities for their implementation, as well as the need to educate the local technical intelligentsia. Despite a quite limited choice of construction materials and structural elements at the time, fairly low quality of construction works, many attempts were made to create the example of the Lithuanian architecture valuable in terms of architecture and aesthetics that echoed the western type of functionalism architecture and “Bauhaus” aesthetics. The complex was built in 1960-1990.

Unique object code: 33502

 

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer. However, by continuing to use the site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
Sutinku